The Impatient Mom’s Guide to SCHOOL’S OUT!

Ah, the summer vacation; things slow down. There’s no rushing to band rehearsal or baseball practice. No more spelling tests, math I can’t understand, or packing lunch in the wee hours. It seems so dreamy until I remember that lunch is still my responsibility and there are visiting children and picky eaters, and all I keep hearing is the screen door slam shut, “Mom, we’re hungry!!!!!”

True story: I have 5 children in the backyard, 4 slices of salami, a half thingy of mozzarella cheese, a few slices of pepperoni, and a boiled egg. But since I also have Immaculate Baking Crescent rolls, I am looking at an incredibly groovy lunch:

leftovers

Turning leftovers into a magical lunch . . .

Crescent Rolls UNROLLED

After I preheated the over, I opened the rolls, lay them out on the baking pan, put some goodies in each, rolled back up, and popped them in the oven. A few tips: it’s best to use dry-ish ingredients. The mozzarella was a bit “wet” and got a bit leaky (but still tasted great and didn’t sog up the roll). When you are rolling the crescent rolls back up, be sure to begin rolling from the wide end and finish at the point. I’ll let the pictures do the talking, but suffice it to say, I cleaned out the fridge, fed 5 boys fast, and I’m working on dessert.

Bits of stuff into crescent rolls -- don't overfill!!!!

all rolled up

bake until golden

LUNCH!

Leave a Reply

