Quiche for lunch (and pie for dessert)

Bringing pie crust to room temp

OFFICE LUNCH

We spend our lunchtimes here at Immaculate in front of a salad. . . or fruit . . . or a cup of yogurt. We’re surrounded by amazing goodies all day, everyday, so we try to balance things out at mealtimes. Last week was an exception, however. I’ve been itching to experiment with our pie crust in our teeny little office kitchen, so I made lunch (and dessert).

I searched Rachel Ray’s recipes for something super simple, something that required only baking and an oven – we don’t have a stovetop here! (quiche recipe: http://www.rachaelray.com/recipe.php?recipe_id=2004 pie recipe: http://www.rachaelraymag.com/Recipes/rachael-ray-magazine-recipe-index/dessert-recipes/Double-Crust-Maine-Blueberry-Pie)

I whipped up a simple quiche and a blueberry pie, and taking the crust out of the equation as an issue was HUGE. Amazing. Wonderful. All I did was bring our pie crust to room temperature, I unrolled it, poured this egg, cream, milk, cheddar (with some of my drying organic thyme still left from the garden). OK, it looked so easy I made two.

Eggs and cream and cheese, waiting for the thyme

Lunch served.

Then, I prepped the blueberry pie.

Wild Blueberry pie

As we all are, I was in a rush, so I used frozen Maine blueberries, some sugar, tapioca, cinnamon. It was so easy and it smelled so good. Office lunch was a hit, and we all decided to eat salads for dinner that night.

Honest? This pie crust will save my cooking life . . . .

Happy Baking.

3 thoughts on “Quiche for lunch (and pie for dessert)

  1. Nicole Sherman says:

    I purchased the scones first and loved them. I only wished they came in a package of only say five because I live alone and although I eat one everyday morning with honey and butter. I’m not able to finish them all and don’t like wasting any. They remind me of both my childhood when my sister, father and myself baked boxed blueberry muffins often. They also bring me back to when I live in VA and on my way to work would stop in a local bakery in Richmond and tried my first scone ever.

    I also purchased the pie crust and plan on using it to make my first potpie. I’ll let you know how it turns out soon.

    • bettercookies says:

      Hi Nicole,

      Believe it or not, the scones freeze pretty well, BUT be sure to open the package first (otherwise, they might explode!). Then you can take them 1 by 1 from a freezer bag, and you have three months to use them!

  2. Nicole Sherman says:

    I just made my very first ever potpie. It was delicious. The dough browned perfectly and was so flaky. The only adjustment I will make next time is blache the fingerling potatoes first so they will be tender when finish cooking them in my potpie. I used Bobby Flay’s recipe from foodtv roughly.
    It brings back great memories of my grandmother’s best friend yearly winter visit from Philadelphia when I was in my twenties. She was one of the best southern cooks I ever met. I will forever miss her cooking but I can’t wait to try this product again and make a fruit filled pie.

Leave a Reply

