Chicken Pot Pie with Buttermilk Biscuits

Guest Blogger: Jessica Cottrell

I can’t claim to love cooking.  I cook because my family of 5 needs to eat, apparently on a constant basis.  Since I am pretty much legally obligated to cook, I want to do it right, so I like to use foods that I feel good about, and I try to support local agriculture when I can.  To that end, I endeavored to create a meal using two of my favorite things: ingredients from my local farm share and an Immaculate Baking Company product.  Since I’ve been getting a chicken every week with my veggies, the obvious choice to me was a feel good fall favorite:  chicken pot, chicken pot, chicken pot pie!

The perfect fall dish.

My lovely friend had shared with me a while back that she used Pillsbury Biscuits as the top of her pot pie in lieu of a traditional pie crust.  I don’t buy those because there are a whole lot of ingredients I can’t pronounce on the label, so I never tried the dish, but Whole Foods had some Immaculate Baking Company Buttermilk Biscuits and the stars aligned.

I sauteed an onion, some garlic and celery in about a tablespoon of butter and once the onions were translucent, I added a bit of broth and some carrots.  I let everything simmer for about 10 minutes ,and then I added some peas, corn and chicken, more broth, salt and pepper and sauteed another 10 minutes or so, stirring in a teaspoon of flour every couple of minutes to thicken the broth.  I then poured the “filling” into a casserole dish, topped it with the rolls and baked for 18 minutes at 350 degrees until the tops of the rolls turned golden.  When serving to my little kids I added some frozen organic peas to cool it down.

I won’t lie, I had a moment of panic recalling some of my no recipe cooking flops of the past, including an event known in my house as “The Chicken Loaf Incident of 2002”.   However, this was no chicken loaf (Thank you God!).  In fact, this dinner was so delicious and pretty, my four year old thanked me for making it at least 8 times; she also commented on how beautiful it was, and asked that I repeat it on a weekly basis.

A delicious 40 minute meal made mostly of leftovers grown about 3 miles from my house sounds like a weekly winner to me!  And now the hardest part, beating everyone else to the store so I can stock up on Buttermilk Biscuits!

Let it cool. . .

They'll ask for more!

Leave a Reply

