Guest Blogger Monday: Veggie Galette

I don’t know how she does it! Guest Blogger, Danielle Knapp, is a new mom, and she’s whipping up these fantastic, thoughtful dinners for her family. Thanks to Danielle for finding the time to share it with us!

It’s been almost 5 months since baby August arrived! So much has changed since his birth last year. I’m now a stay at home mom and my days are filled with feeding, playing, and putting him down for naps – in short, it’s pretty awesome.

August!

2 months after he was born I started to really think about what I was putting into my body and feeding August (since he’s breastfed). I stumbled across a blog that changed my way of eating. I learned to start eating “real” foods. My family now eats lots of fruits and vegetables and if we can’t pronounce or know what something is on the ingredient list, we don’t eat it. Thankfully, Immaculate Baking products have ingredients I can pronounce and am not scared to eat. They allow us to have some treats that are convenient so we don’t have to splurge on some of the other scarier trans-fat and preservative free alternatives. Cooking is an adventure every day and August loves to sit in the kitchen and watch all of the action.

I use Pinterest all of the time to find new recipes. I stumbled upon a recipe for a galette and as soon as I saw it involved tasty veggies and cheese in a pie crust, I was sold. It was a great splurge dinner for us to have in the middle of the busy week and Hubby couldn’t wait to try it. To make this, pre-heat the oven to 425. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and roll out your pie crust. Most pie crusts are 9”, but the recipe says to roll it out until it’s 13” – I didn’t see this part and just used the crust as is and it turned out just fine.

Ingredients.

The recipe called for ½ cup roasted red peppers, ½ pound sliced, cooked potato, 2 cups loosely packed arugula, 3oz. thinly sliced chorizo, and 3oz. thinly sliced Manchego cheese. I decided I wanted to add a little onion and since I only had a fresh red pepper (instead of the roasted kind in the jar), I decided to sauté the onion and red peppers first. Then I sliced the chorizo and the potatoes. I added the potatoes to the skillet with a little olive oil to cook them and then I was ready to start layering. I put the chorizo on the bottom, followed by potatoes, red peppers, onions, and then I topped it off with cheese. When adding the items, make sure to leave a border of crust because after everything is on the crust, you fold the edges up and over.

About to go in the oven.

Cook at 425 for 20-25 minutes. While cooking, toss the arugula in 1 tsp. sherry vinegar (I used balsamic since that’s what I had on hand) and ½ tsp. extra vrigin olive oil. Once the galette is done cooking, take it out of the oven, sprinkle with the arugula, and cut into wedges. I have to admit, this is by far one of my favorite meals. All of the elements went together so nicely and it made for a satisfying and incredibly tasty dinner.  Hubby was more than pleased with how this turned out. I was hoping for there to be leftovers, but we ended up eating the whole thing! It looks so nice and thankfully it’s really easy to make. I’m so glad there are 2 pie crusts per box – I plan to look for other types of galettes so I can make another one soon.

Arugula

The Perfect Dinner!

Leave a Reply

