Guest Blogger Monday: Abby’s Mother’s Day Cookie Cups

This week, we’re happy to have Abby Giannuzzi, high school senior and intern extraordinaire, share a recipe for these amazing cookie cups. They’re so good that over the weekend, Immaculate CEO, Paul Nardone, called to see if any were left over in the office (there were not). Abby’s challenge: take something home from our refrigerator and do something new with it. Lucky us (lucky you).

As a busy high school student, I look forward to my evening study break ritual.   Most nights I don’t have time to do much more than pop a few Immaculate Baking Company refrigerated dough cookies into the oven for a nice warm treat.  Some nights, when my homework is finished early or, more likely, I find myself in a mood to procrastinate, I enjoy experimenting with Immaculate Baking products.  Last week, I found myself experimenting with different desserts to make for a friend’s birthday.  Since my friend loves Immaculate’s Chocolate Chunk Cookies as much as I do, I knew that this dough would serve as one of the primary ingredients.  My challenge was not only to find a simple way to use the refrigerated dough but also to create something special and deserving of a “wow!”

Making Cookie Cups

Cookie Cups:  Using a mini cupcake pan, I experimented with creating “cookie cups.”  After lightly coating the pan with some non-stick spray, I began by pressing each of the Chocolate Chunk cookies into a small flat circle.  Next, I took each circle and gently pressed each one into a mini cupcake opening lightly greased with cooking spray.

After baking the dough in a preheated oven at 350 degrees for approximately 8 minutes, I took the cupcake pan out of the oven to inspect my creation.  Although the dough appeared to have expanded during baking, within seconds of removing the pan from the oven dough began to deflate.  To ensure that the dough would remain flat, I gently pushed the dough down in the center and along the sides with a teaspoon, then put the pan back in the oven for another 1 minute.   To my delight, when I took the pan out of the oven this time, the dough was more closely molded to the sides of the pan.  I used the spoon once again for a final flattening of the dough, then allowed the pan to cool completely.  Once the dough had cooled, I removed 24 perfectly formed Chocolate Chunk cookie shells.

Inspecting Cookie Cups

Fillings:  I decided to fill each of the cookie cups with my friend’s favorite dessert, a mixture of chocolate and peanut butter.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Filling:  In a mixer, combine 1 cup of peanut butter, ¼ cup of confectioner’s sugar, 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract and 4 tablespoons of melted chocolate chips (semisweet, dark or milk chocolate).   Mix at medium speed for approximately 1 minute until combined and smooth.   Fill each cup, refrigerate for an hour or more, then enjoy!

Peanut butter filled cookie cup.

Cannoli Cream Filling:  On Mother’s Day, I created a special dessert for my mother that combines two of her favorite desserts, chocolate cookies and cannolis.  I created another version of the cookie cup using my mother’s favorite, Immaculate’s Triple Chocolate Cookies refrigerated dough.  (The procedures and cooking times are identical to those described above for Chocolate Chunk cookie cups.)   The cannoli filling is so simple and just scrumptious!

Cannoli Filling:  In large bowl, whip 2/3 cup of heavy cream and 1/3 cup of confectioner’s sugar until soft peaks form.  In a medium bowl, place one cup of ricotta cheese.  Gently stir half of the whipped cream mixture into the ricotta, then fold the remaining whipped cream into the ricotta mixture.   Fill each cookie cup, then refrigerate.  For Mother’s Day, I topped the cannoli filled cookie cups with fresh berries and mini chocolate chips.

Cannoli-filling cups. Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

