Guest Blogger Monday: Tea Party Time.

With the Thanksgiving holiday, upcoming schools vacations, sick days, and the like, I was excited to see Jessica Cottrell’s Guest Blogger Post. I love the notion of a tea party — or in my house, a cocoa party — with your favorite snacks. Any favorite recipes you share with your at-home kiddoes?

Princess Tea Party Playdate

My 5 year old daughter had a playdate this week and she and her friend were playing a regal game of Princess and Pop Star when they decided they needed a tea party. This is my daughter’s favorite way of getting some treats out of me, and it usually works because I am a fool for little girls and all their glitzy Fancy Nancy inspired play. It’s also about the only time my tea set ever gets used, so it’s fun for me, too. But on this particular day I didn’t have any treats on hand and I really wasn’t in the mood to haul out ingredients to bake from scratch. I actually said no, until I recalled that I had a few cookies left in my package of Immaculate Baking Company Lemon Sugar Cookies. In order to make these worthy of a petite princess tea party, I wanted them smaller, so I cut each oversize cookie in half and sprinkled with purple sugar crystals. Since I only had four left that gave me 8 cookies, 6 for the girls and 2 for the chef, of course. To be honest, they ended up being normal sized cookies, so in the interests of having more delicate tea party finger foods, I would probably quarter the cookie dough next time. I baked them for 10 minutes at 350 degrees on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and when I took them out I gave them an extra sprinkle of purple sugar for good measure.

It looked so cute that I decided to share, because it was such an easy way to make this playdate a special little memory, for 20 minutes until the cookies and tea were gone. And then the Princess and Pop Star fled for the great outdoors!

Leave a Reply

