Fried Dough . . . or “donut holes” from pie crust!

Pie Crust Donuts8With a house full of tween boys, I needed a perfect and quick snack. It was snowing, so I was feeling a bit indulgent, but the only thing I had in the house was Immaculate’s pie crusts. A pie, even with pre-made crusts, seemed too ambitious for my day, so I remembered my mom making us fried dough as special treats when we were kids. She would visit the corner bakery and pick up fresh dough to fry, usually, a rare carnival treat only!Pie Crust Donuts1

I let my pie crusts come to room temp, ripped pieces off, and rolled them into small balls. Then, in a solid pan, I heated some vegetable oil, and fried the balls up for a few minutes, turning to get the browning even.

Pie Crust Donuts2Pie Crust Donuts4

Pie Crust Donuts5

Remove the cooked dough balls with a slotted spoon and place onto a paper toweled plate — to drain and cool for a few minutes.

While they’re cooling, I grabbled a brown bag and poured some turbinado sugar and cinnamon in. Then I tossed the balls into the bag, closed it up and shook! For all of you purists out there, you could just use some powdered sugar for shaking. By now, the kids were milling around the kitchen wondering what smelled so good. We had our very own carnival at home.

Pie Crust Donuts7Pie Crust Donuts10

3 thoughts on “Fried Dough . . . or “donut holes” from pie crust!

  1. “Fried Dough . . . or donut holes from pie crust!
    | Better Cookies” truly got me hooked on ur web site! I actuallywill be back significantly more regularly.
    Thanks ,Emanuel

  2. “Fried Dough . . . or donut holes from pie crust!
    | Better Cookies” was indeed a pretty great blog, .
    I hope you keep publishing and I am going to continue to
    keep reading through! Thanks for the post ,Wallace

  3. Exactly what genuinely motivated u to compose “Fried Dough .
    . . or donut holes from pie crust! | Better Cookies”?
    I personallyseriously liked it! Thanks for your effort ,Vonnie

Leave a Reply

