Hot Chocolate Cookie Cups

One of my greatest indulgences during winter is hot chocolate. I drink it like water.

I have accumulated a variety of cocoa mix and hot chocolate through the course of the holidays. There’s a total of 5 different mixes sitting on my counter right this moment. And the best part is, I didn’t even pay for any of them! They were all holiday gifts from friends and co-workers who sure did their fair share of fueling on my biggest winter vice.

But thanks to my unhealthy hot chocolate addiction, I am more than well-prepped when I came across this hot chocolate cookie cup recipe. So I guess my vice has been put to some good use, and now many other chocoholics will benefit 🙂

chocolate cups

Okay, confession: I haven’t invested in a mini muffin tin just yet, so I had to improvise a bit with some tin foil. It’s a little bit ghetto, I know, but it gets the job done! And here’s another little tip with the pretzel: I only needed a few pieces to make the handles, and pretzel has NEVER been my go-to snack under any circumstances, so I certainly wasn’t prepared to buy a whole bag for just 12 pieces of pretzels. So. My remedy (which I’m quite very proud of) was to buy myself a bag of Chex Mix. Fortunately the store had one of my favorites, Honey Nut Chex Mix, so everything worked out perfectly 🙂

You Will Need:

  • 1 pack Immaculate Baking Co.® Vanilla Sugar Cookie Dough
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 2 tablespoons hot cocoa mix
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 12 mini pretzels
  • 1 cup mini marshmallows

Here’s How to Get the Dough Rolling:

  1. Put sugar cookie dough into 24 greased mini muffin tins.
  2. Bake for 12-14 minutes at 350°F. Let the cookies cool completely in the pan before gently removing them.
  3. Make the chocolate ganache by bringing the whipping cream to a boil, and then stir in the hot cocoa mix.
  4. Pour the hot cream over the semi-sweet chocolate chips and let it sit for 3 minutes. Then, stir until the chocolate chips are melted and the ganache is smooth.
  5. Break off the loops on some mini pretzels to use as handles.
  6. Melt some white chocolate chips and use it to attach the pretzel handles to the cookie cups.
  7. Spoon the chocolate ganache into the cookie cups and top with mini marshmallows.

Leave a Reply

