Chocolate Coconut Yogurt Pie

Lately I’ve been experimenting a lot of with switching out cream cheese for yogurt, trying to go after a “skinny” version of some of my favorite treats. But considering that I’m using the creamy and luscious Liberté® Méditerranée yogurt, calling it “skinny” seems to be misleading and hardly does the silky smooth whole milk yogurt any justice.

I was pleasantly surprised that the yogurt is creamy enough that it actually held up very nicely, particularly in this Chocolate Coconut Yogurt Pie. I must confess that I’ve never really had much luck when it comes to pie-baking… I really only have myself to blame, because I think I have a tendency to want to pull the pie out of the fridge, oh maybe an hour too soon, and so of course the first slice and the second slice, and then essentially the entire pie falls apart. Fortunately I’ve learned my lesson this time round, and my Chocolate Coconut Yogurt Pie turned out perfectly!

coconut yogurt pie_blog

If you’ve had Liberté® yogurt all on its own, you’d know that it’s truly a decadently flavorful yogurt. So I thought I’d hold out on some of the sugar since I was pretty confident the sweetness of the yogurt will carry through. I have to admit that I probably could’ve scooped in more sugar, but hey, I was actually okay with the sweetness level. But if you like your sweets, well sweet, go ahead and mix in that 1/2 cup sugar to give it more umph. Otherwise, feel free to adjust to your sugar tolerance as needed.

You Will Need:

  • 1 Immaculate Baking Co. ® Pie Crust, softened as directed on box (just need 1 pie dough!)
  • 2 cups Liberté® Méditerranée Coconut Yogurt
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/3 cups flaked coconut
  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Here’s How to Get the Dough Rolling:

  1. Heat oven to 350°F. Place pie crust in 9-inch glass pie plate as directed on box.
  2. In large bowl, beat yogurt, eggs, and sugar with wire whisk until well blended. Stir in chocolate chips. Pour into crust-lined plate. Sprinkle with coconut.
  3. Bake 50 to 60 minutes or until golden brown, top is puffed and center is almost set. Cover crust with foil during last half of baking, if necessary, to prevent excessive browning. Cool at least 1 hour. Serve warm or cooled. Store covered in refrigerator.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Coconut Yogurt Pie

  1. Dawn says:

    I’m pretty sure this would be fabulous with banana yogurt and topped with banana chips and drizzled with semi sweet and/or while chocolate.. Maybe even add some walnuts?

Leave a Reply

