Mini Gingerbread Cupcakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting

If someone had raided my kitchen last weekend, they would’ve hit the mother load of goodies – my fridge had been totally stocked up in preparation for my weekend bake-a-thon. True, 90% of the things in my fridge weren’t even my groceries, but on the flip side, 90% of what I bake usually ends up in my tummy. Okay, maybe not 90%… I’ve been sharing A LOT of what I bake with friends and coworkers, and I’ve been practicing the art of indulging in moderation. But when I test out recipes like this mini gingerbread cupcakes with cinnamon cream cheese frosting, “self control” and “moderation” are pretty much the last things on my mind…

gingerbread cupcake_blog

I’ve been itching to bake up some cookie cupcakes forever, and got even more excited when I came across a cinnamon cream cheese frosting recipe that I just know will go perfectly with the ginger spice cookies. I was not wrong 🙂

Mind you, I’m still very much a baker-in-training, so I certainly didn’t have all the fancy baking gadgets and tools at my disposal, and among other things, a piping bag was one of the many that I did not have. BUT! Thank goodness for the power of Google, I very quickly discovered the versatility of a zip lock bag and was able to (sort of) improvise and makeshift it into a piping bag.

For my final finishing touch, I decided to satisfy my sudden craving for graham cracker cookies by sprinkling them on the cupcakes. The gingerbread cupcakes are just as great with the frosting alone, so this really was my personal preference. I’m happy to report back that the cupcakes were an absolute success!

You Will Need:

Cupcakes

  • 1 pack Immaculate Baking Co. ® refrigerated Ginger Spice Cookies
  • 2 eggs

Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 4 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons milk, enough to make a spreadable frosting

Here’s How to Get the Dough Rolling:

  1. Heat oven to 350°F. Place paper baking cup in each of 24 mini muffin cups.
  2. Let cookie dough stand at room temperature 10 minutes. In large bowl, break up cookie dough. Add eggs; beat with electric mixer on medium speed until well combined and smooth. Spoon into baking cups.
  3. Bake 14 to 16 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center of cupcake comes out clean. Remove muffin cups from pan to cooling rack. Cool completely, about 15 minutes.DSC09778
  4. Meanwhile, in large bowl, beat butter and cream cheese with electric mixer on medium speed until smooth. Beat in powdered sugar, cinnamon and milk. Place in decorating bag fitted with large star tip. Pipe frosting on top of cooled cupcakes.

Leave a Reply

