Cinnamon Apple Biscuit Cups

I had an extra pouch of cinnamon roll icing sitting in my fridge that I didn’t know what to do about.

It was leftover from when I made the cinnamon roll cheesecake. I had the good sense to hold on to it, because 1. who in their right minds would throw out a perfectly good pouch of icing, and 2. I just knew that there’s gotta be another recipe that could use that extra yumminess.

Ah yes I know, it’s tough living, having to wrack my brains to come up with a recipe that would need some extra icing, but after much pondering and snacking and Pinterest-shopping, at last, I’ve found a winner: Cinnamon Apple Biscuit Cups!

cinnamon apple_blog

I know what you’re thinking: Not everyone has extra cinnamon roll icing pouches lying around in their fridge that they’re trying to get rid of, so I have included a make-your-own-icing-from-scratch recipe below.

Cinnamon and apples is probably the quintessential Fall combination. But honestly, I could have cinnamon apple anything anytime of the year. To me, it’s the perfect yummylicious flavor duo that makes me think sweet, warm, delicious gooeyness. Which is something we all could probably use extra dosages of just to help us survive this never-ending winter…

You Will Need:

  • 1 can Immaculate Baking Co.® refrigerated Buttermilk Biscuits
  • 2 tablespoons butter or margarine, melted
  • 1 medium apple, peeled, chopped (1 cup)
  • 3 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Icing

  • ½  cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • ¼ cup whipping cream
  • 3/4 cup powdered sugarcinnamon apple_blog2

How to Get the Dough Rolling:

  1. Heat oven to 350°F. Place paper baking cup in each of 12 regular-size muffin cups. Cut each biscuit into 6 pieces; place in large bowl. Add butter, apple, granulated sugar and cinnamon; toss gently to mix. Spoon mixture into muffin cups.
  2. Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until golden brown. Immediately remove from pan.
  3. Meanwhile, in 1-quart saucepan, heat brown sugar and cream to a full rolling boil over medium heat, stirring constantly. Remove from heat. Beat in powdered sugar until smooth.
  4. Spoon warm icing over warm biscuit cups.

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Apple Biscuit Cups

  1. Good Loooord this sounds amazing 🙂 Earlier I read another post about cupcakes that taste like donuts, and now I feel compelled to try both recipes hahaha. This sounds perfect for breakfast!

Leave a Reply

