Bacon & Spinach Quiche Cups

I told ya I was on a bacon roll.

I knew I wanted to try more bacon recipes, but I also wanted to make sure that these were recipes that had a good veggie pairing. I’m not even going to go into all that shpill about how it will balance out the nutrition and that it’s better for you yadiyada, because all of that is true, and people should be eating their veggies for all those reasons, but more importantly, I want bacon recipes with the right veggie pairings because I honestly think that it’ll make everything taste so much yummier. And so I give you Bacon & Spinach Quiche Cups!

Bacon & Spinach Quiche Cups

Most biscuit quiche recipes are baked up in a large glass plate, where the dough rounds are pressed down at the bottom as the crust. But this was actually thought up as a breakfast item for me and my friends right before we headed out on a road trip at the butt crack of dawn. I figured it would make things a lot easier if I did a biscuit quiche that was portable, and in single serves. And then I recall that the typical way to do an individual biscuit quiche cup would be to actually use one entire dough round for each quiche cup. I knew that I didn’t want to do that, not because it’s already so done, but because I was never satisfied with the filling-to-dough ratio from those kinds of biscuit quiche cups. So here’s a modified version, where it definitely has a better quiche texture, but you know you’re still loaded up on yummy biscuit carbs.

If you end up with extra egg mixture, I just divided it up into mini muffin tins, bake them up at 350°F for about 15 minutes or until the egg filling has set, and voila, we made mini  bacon and spinach frittatas 🙂

You Will Need:

  • 4 large eggs, beaten
  • 1 cups heavy cream
  • 2 cups fresh baby spinach, packed
  • 1 pound bacon, cooked and crumbled
  • 1 cup shredded Swiss cheese

Here’s How to Get the Dough Rolling:

  1. Heat oven to 350°F. Cut each biscuit dough into 6 pieces and set aside.
  2. In small bowl, beat eggs and cream until smooth. Combine dough pieces, bacon, spinach and 1/2 cup Swiss cheese in egg mixture. Add salt and pepper to taste. Reserve some bacon crumbles for garnish later.
  3. Spoon egg and dough mixture into regular muffin cups. Each cup should get at least 4 pieces of dough. Top each cup with remaining cheese.
  4. Bake 21 to 26 minutes or until filling is set and golden brown. Sprinkle each with remaining bacon; lightly press into filling. Remove biscuit quiche carefully from muffin cups. Serve warm.

Leave a Reply

