Apple Streusel Cheesecake Bar

I’m not sure what the weather has been like for the rest of the country, but it’s still a little chilly over where we are, chilly enough that we can still enjoy an Apple Streusel Cheesecake Bar. Oh who are we kidding. We’d happily gobble up an Apple Streusel Cheesecake Bar anytime of the year. You had me at apple. And streusel. And cheesecake. Gobble.

Apple Streusel Cheesecake Bar

 

 

I must confess that I originally had this all wrong. I think I was having a hard time deciding the texture I wanted for my bottom crust. So I did this silly thing where I mixed up my cookie dough with a couple eggs to give it that chewy cake-y texture. Which, I’ll admit, completely defeats the purpose of “streusel”. So I stand corrected, please do NOT do what I did (unless of course you prefer your stresuel bars nice and soft and chewy, then by all means!), you can simply just bake up the cookie dough as is, DON’T add any eggs. It’ll make for a much yummier streusel, I think. But enough about my bad judgement (I still gobbled up my fair share of Apple Streusel Cheesecake Bar with the cake-y crust though,which just tells you that you cannot go wrong when it’s a combination of cookies, cheesecake, apple and cinnamon!), and let’s get right down to how to make this yummy goodness!

You Will Need:

  • 1 pack Immaculate Baking Co. Vanilla Sugar refrigerated cookie dough
  • 1 packages (8 oz each) cream cheese, softened (go for 2 packages if you really want a nice thick cheesecake layer!)
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 4 medium size apples, peeled, cored and cubed
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts

Apple Streusel Cheesecake Bar2
Here’s How to Get the Dough Rolling:

  1. Heat oven to 350°F. Spray bottom and sides of an 8 or 9-inch square pan with cooking spray.
  2. Break the cookie dough apart, and press into bottom of pan. Bake for 5-8 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, in large bowl, beat cream cheese, sugar, flour, vanilla and egg with electric mixer on medium speed until smooth.
  4. Spread cream cheese mixture evenly over partially baked crust. In medium bowl, mix cubed apples, cinnamon and sugar to taste. Spoon evenly over cream cheese mixture. Sprinkle with walnuts.
  5. Bake 35 to 40 minutes longer or until light golden brown. Cool about 30 minutes. Refrigerate to chill, about 2 hours. For bars, cut into 6 rows by 4 rows. Store covered in refrigerator.

Leave a Reply

