Mini Tomato Spinach Pies

I know that people tend to prefer keeping their ovens off during summer. But as I’ve been doing my recipe research, I have to say that there are plenty of yummy summer baking recipes out there! I’ve gotta believe that these summer baked goodies are so good that it would be worth heating up the house for!

So I decided to put a few to the test! Tomato pies have always been something I wanted to try… but I’ve never had that great a track record when it comes to pie baking, so I figured I’d err on the conservative side and curb my ambition a little. Let’s start with mini pies that might be a bit more manageable!

Mini Tomato Spinach Pies

 

These mini tomato spinach pies are as easy as they look! Completely fool-proof (as you would know by the fact that I actually pulled it off!)! They’re bite-size, so would make for perfect summer party appetizers, and honestly they only take about 15 minutes to bake up, so the oven will be off before you know it! Besides, summer baking is why we installed air conditioners, right?

You Will Need:

  • 1 can Immaculate Baking Co.® refrigerated crescent roll
  • 1/3 cup frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained (about half a 10 oz box)
  • 1/3 cup ricotta cheese
  • 2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 small plum (Roma) tomatoes, each cut into 6 thin slices
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Here’s How to Get the Dough Rolling:

  1. Heat oven to 375°F. Spray 12 mini muffin cups or mini tart pans with cooking spray.
  2. Unroll dough on work surface; cut into 12 squares. Place each square in muffin cup, gently pressing in bottom and letting corners of dough overhang top of cup.
  3. In small bowl, mix spinach and cheeses. Add salt and pepper to taste. Spoon 1 tablespoon filling into each crust-lined cup. Top each with 1 tomato slice. Fold corners of dough over tomato.
  4. Bake 15 to 20 minutes or until golden brown. Serve warm.

Leave a Reply

