Coconut Cinnamon Cheesecake Braid

I had almost forgotten that I’ve got all these refrigerated dough in my fridge! And it has been a while since I last did a recipe using our cinnamon rolls, so here goes!

I know I know, people like to just pop our cinnamon rolls in the oven and bake them up as is. Easy peasy convenience is definitely what we’re going for with our cinnamon rolls! But hey, if you’ve got a few extra minutes and a few more simple ingredients to spare, I promise you won’t be sorry for putting a little bit extra time in making these cinnamon rolls even more special!

Coconut Cinnamon Roll Cheesecake Braid

I had bought a whole bag of coconut flakes for my chocolate rum cake recipe a couple weeks ago, so it’s about time that I baked up something else that would put all that yumminess to good use! I honestly can’t say that I’ve made any sort of braids with our cinnamon rolls before, but I can’t think of why it’s taken me this long to get in on such a super easy way of giving our cinnamon rolls a special twist! I even took step shots to commemorate this special moment! Hope you’ll enjoy this recipe as much as my neighbors and coworkers have!

You Will Need:

  • 1 package (8 oz) cream cheese, softened
  • 2/3 cup coconut
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon coconut extract
  • 1 can Immaculate Baking Co.™ refrigerated cinnamon rolls
  • 3 tablespoons sliced almonds

Here’s How to Get the Dough Rolling:

  1. Heat oven to 350°F. Line large cookie sheet with parchment paper (or tin foil). In medium bowl, beat cream cheese, coconut, sugar, coconut extract and egg with electric mixer on medium speed about 30 seconds or until well blended.
  2. Separate dough into 5 rolls; reserve icing. Unroll each roll into a 20-inch strip, stretching if necessary; cut each strip in half. Place strips cinnamon side up, with sides touching, on cookie sheet.coconut1
  3. Spoon cream cheese mixture crosswise down center of square in 3-inch wide strip. Fold ends of cinnamon roll strips over filling, pulling gently to overlap slightly in center; press gently. Sprinkle with almonds.coconut2
  4. Bake 25 to 35 minutes or until top is deep golden brown. Cool on cookie sheet 10 minutes.coconut3
  5. Meanwhile, in small microwavable bowl; microwave icing uncovered on High 10 to 15 seconds or until thin enough to drizzle. Drizzle icing over warm braid. Serve warm or cool.

Leave a Reply

