Witch’s Crescent Fingers

I was out and about a couple weeks ago at Macy’s, and came across a sampling station in the food court. The lady was handing out cut up pieces of turkey wrapped in some sort of dough with one of those pepper jelly on the side. I NEVER say no to free food, so of course had to give it a try. I asked her what was it, and she answered, oh this is witch’s finger.

I stared at her messy plate of dough-wrapped turkey dog, and thought to myself, I can totally make that myself. And so I totally did!

FB_Witch Finger.png

Here’s the thing: This isn’t so much a recipe as it is an art project, and honestly, you make it as hard or as easy, as gross and halloween gruesome as you want it to be. I was too excited to put my new found idea to the test,  so I didn’t stop to take step shots and pictures of with my cranberry-jelly-stickied fingers of my newly deformed, but edible severed fingers. So instead, I thought I draw up the steps just to show you how easy this all can be:

Witch1

You start out with your can of Immaculate Baking crescent dough. Seal the perforations to form a rectangle, and then cut it into strips width-wise. I cut it into 14 strips.

Witch2

I then took my hot dogs (any kind would work!) and halved them down the middle, sliced them width-wise so then it’ll make the dough-wrapping a little easier to handle. If you want to make long and slender fingers, you probably won’t need to half the hot dogs, and you’ll probably need to cut the crescent dough length-wise to give you a long enough strip to wrap the entire length of a hot dog.

Witch3

This next step probably is optional. I gave each hot dog a pointy tip to try to make it look more like a nail.

Witch4

And now let the wrapping begin. Try leaving the pointy tip of the hot dog hanging out of the dough a little bit. It’ll look more like a nail, especially after the dough bakes up and expands a little. I spooned on a little bit of cranberry jelly on the hot dog before I started wrapping the dough. This could get messy. You could always add little globs on the dough afterwards to create a gorey look, like the finger’s all split up and oozing bloody goop. Like this:

Witch5

 

Now bake it at 350F for 12-14 minutes as instructed on the crescent roll package. You can use a back of the knife to add some creases and indentations on the dough to create wrinkles on the “finger” before you bake them. But I’ve found what really gave it the finishing touch was pinching the dough right around the knuckle areas of the fingers immediately after they’re baked up. This actually wrinkles the dough a little bit, and give it a much more realistic look.

Leave a Reply

